Carnegie Hall Live: Jonathan Biss And The Elias String Quartet Hear one of America's finest young pianists and an emerging English string quartet play music by visionary composer Robert Schumann, as well as music by Mozart and artists Schumann influenced.

Classics in Concert

Carnegie Hall Live: Jonathan Biss And The Elias String Quartet

Carnegie Hall Live: Jonathan Biss And The Elias String Quartet

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

In October, pianist Jonathan Biss set out on a vision quest, a season-long immersion in music by Robert Schumann. Biss and the members of England's Elias String Quartet have been exploring Schumann and associated composers in cities throughout Europe and North America, including a Carnegie Hall concert webcast live on this page (and at WQXR) Tuesday, April 2 at 8 p.m. ET.

Biss dubbed the tour Schumann: Under the Influence. In each of the 30-some performances Schumann is the centerpiece, surrounded by composers who inspired him and by successors as diverse as the 87-year-old György Kurtág and American composer Timothy Andres, still in his 20s. A new piano quintet by Andres will receive its New York premiere at the Carnegie concert.

To get his journey started, Biss penned a series of Schumann essays for NPR Music and then sat down to play Schumann's music and talk about it with Performance Today host Fred Child.

Schumann, Biss says, has always been a huge part of his life. He has bonded deeply with the composer, who he feels is both misunderstood and underrated.

"It would be fair to call Under the Influence an advocacy project," Biss writes on NPR Music's blog Deceptive Cadence. He also says that in trying to explain why Schumann's reputation needs rehabilitation he's surprised even himself.

"I feel protective of him. The feeling is there, unmistakably, but I recognize that it is bizarre. Schumann is, after all, one of history's best-represented composers, not an injured baby animal to be wrapped in a blanket."

Still, the misconceptions abound. And Biss is quick to dispel them, pointing out that Schumann's symphonies are indeed well orchestrated and that the late pieces, written after the composer's bout with mental illness, are far from incoherent.

There's no dispute, however, over the greatness of the Piano Quartet in E-flat. A staple of the chamber music repertoire, it also anchors the upcoming Carnegie performance.

"Some moments in Schumann's Piano Quartet have a euphoria much like that of the more famous Quintet," Biss says. "Others are reminiscent of his greatest piano works in the sense of the privacy and fragility they convey. Because Schumann is Schumann, these two sides belong to one another — they come together to make an improbable, magnificent whole."


  • MOZART Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, K. 493
  • JANÁCEK String Quartet No. 2, "Intimate Letters"
  • TIMOTHY ANDRES Piano Quintet (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • SCHUMANN Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47
[+] read more[-] less

More From Classical

Gurtman and Murtha Artist Management

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

Hear "America's First Lady of the Piano" explore the boundaries between classical music and jazz with host Marian McPartland in this 2004 episode.

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Dancers in "Stalactites," a video by Mark DeChiazza, based on Orpheus Unsung, a theater work composed by Steven Mackey, with Jason Treuting. Mark DeChiazza hide caption

toggle caption Mark DeChiazza

Orpheus Reborn With Dancers, Drums And Electric Guitar

A new video, featuring a score by Steven Mackey with Jason Treuting, retells the ancient tale of love, loss and the power of music.

Penguin Cafe performs a Tiny Desk Concert on May 2, 2017. (Claire Harbage/NPR) Claire Harbage/NPR hide caption

toggle caption Claire Harbage/NPR

Penguin Cafe

Penguin Cafe folds in sounds from around the world and throughout music history — Africa, Kraftwerk, Brazil and Franz Schubert.

Composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir revised her piece Aura especially for The Los Angeles Percussion Quartet. David Holechek hide caption

toggle caption David Holechek

Anna Thorvaldsdottir's Volcanic Transmissions

As members of the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet bow their vibraphones, brush their gongs and message their bass drums, the composer's evocative music oozes from blackness.

Ludovico Einaudi, performing live for KCRW. Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW hide caption

toggle caption Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW

Ludovico Einaudi, 'Petricor' (Live)


Watch the pianist and composer, joined by a full band, in a stunning live performance for KCRW.

Back To Top