About the National Press Club

The National Press Club Luncheon Speaker Series began in 1932 with a speech by President-elect Franklin D. Roosevelt. The National Press Club hosts an average of 70 such luncheons a year as an opportunity for world leaders, newsmakers and prominent figures in the realms of finance and culture to share their knowledge and experiences.

Over the years, Nikita Khrushchev. Winston Churchill, Madame Chiang Kai Shek, Golda Meir, Indira Gandhi, Charles deGaulle, Boris Yeltsin, Nelson Mandela, and Yasir Arafat have all made appearances at the National Press Club. This year alone, visits have been made by Minnesota Governor Jesse Ventura, Janet Reno, Tom Clancy, Gerald Ford and Buzz Aldrin.

Luncheon speakers are selected by a committee led by the National Press Club president. The speakers pay for their own transportation to and from the National Press Club and lodging in Washington, D.C., yet they receive no compensation for their appearances. The luncheons are open to the public (there is an admission charge with reduced fees for National Press Club members).

National Public Radio has been broadcasting the National Press Club Luncheon Speaker Series since 1985. NPR began Webcasting these events in October 1999.