Bonebridge + Tillery: Live In Concert : A Blog Supreme Improvising cellist Erik Friedlander pursues the sounds of the American South, with a little slide guitar flavor. Then, three of the most original jazz singers today perform — together. Hear the recording of their double bill.

Tillery + Erik Friedlander's Bonebridge: Live At 92Y Tribeca

Tillery on The Checkout: Live

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Erik Friedlander and Bonebridge on The Checkout: Live

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

What happens when an improvising cellist decides to pursue the sounds of the American South? Or when three of the most original singers today decide to perform as a trio?

Bonebridge is the new quartet of cellist Erik Friedlander, who has explored jazz with his New York-based trio for years. Inspired by the blues and Southern rock of his teenage years, his 2011 release Bonebridge added guitarist Doug Wamble — here, playing the resonant slide guitar — for proper down-home flavor.

Tillery is the pairing of vocalists Rebecca Martin, Gretchen Parlato and Becca Stevens. All are acclaimed as jazz singers; they've all also written original material with open lines to singer-songwriter folk or modern R&B. The three friends bring their tunes, select covers and guitars to the stage in this collective ensemble.

On Tuesday, Sept. 27 at 8 p.m. ET, The Checkout: Live From 92Y Tribeca paired Erik Friedlander's Bonebridge and the trio Tillery in a double bill. The concert was broadcast on air via WBGO and in an online video webcast at this page on NPR Music. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit

Video Highlights

Tillery, 'Magnus'

Erik Friedlander's Bonebridge, 'Transpontine'



  • Rebecca Martin, voice
  • Gretchen Parlato, voice
  • Becca Stevens, voice

Set List

  • Tillery (Becca Stevens)
  • The Space In A Song To Think (Rebecca Martin)
  • You Push Me Away (Michael Jackson arr. Parlato)
  • To Up And Go (Rebecca Martin)
  • Alo Alo (Paulinho da Viola)
  • Don't Mean A Thing At All (Rebecca Martin)
  • Reminder (Becca Stevens)
  • Michael's Mind (Rebecca Martin)
  • God Is In The Details (Rebecca Martin)
  • Magnus' Song (Gretchen Parlato)

Erik Friedlander's Bonebridge


  • Erik Friedlander, cello
  • Doug Wamble, slide guitar
  • Trevor Dunn, bass
  • Michael Sarin, drums

Set List

  • Tabatha
  • Low Country Cupola
  • Transpontine
  • Hanky Panky
  • Bridge To Nowhere
  • Reverend
  • Caribou
  • Beaufain Street
  • (all compositions by Erik Friedlander)

Credits: Josh Jackson, producer and host. David Tallacksen, mix engineer. Michael Downes, assistant. Simon Rentner, assistant.