New Mix: The New Pornographers, Mapei, Moon Hooch And More : All Songs Considered Hear the first new song from The New Pornographers in four years on All Songs Considered. Plus: the riff-rock sax trio Moon Hooch, hip-hop and R&B singer Mapei, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and more.

New Mix: The New Pornographers, Mapei, Moon Hooch And More

New Mix: The New Pornographers, Mapei, Moon Hooch And More

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Clockwise from upper left: The New Pornographers, Mapei, Moon Hooch. Courtesy of the artists hide caption

toggle caption
Courtesy of the artists

On this week's All Songs Considered: New music from the pop giants in The New Pornographers, hip-hop and R&B singer Mapei, the riff-rock sax group Moon Hooch, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and more.

After abandoning plans to open a doughnut shop, co-host Robin Hilton rejoins the program and is welcomed by host Bob Boilen, who shares an early preview of the upcoming New Pornographers album Brill Bruisers. It isn't out until Aug. 26, but we've got the gloriously infectious title track.

Robin follows with "Change," an uplifting ode to the power of love and appreciating what you have in life, from the just-announced Mapei album Hey Hey. Last fall, we featured the Stockholm-based singer's song "Don't Wait" on the show, shortly before it became a massive hit, propelled by Mapei's soaring voice and inspired mix of soul and electronics.

Also on the program: new music from Moon Hooch, the sax-powered riff-rock trio we've been raving about for the past year; the beautifully textured, moody music of Dawn Golden; a gritty turn for the idiosyncratic pop group Clap Your Hands Say Yeah; and the wistfully breezy, sunny-day pop of Alvvays.

Songs Featured On This Episode

  • The New Pornographers

    No Alternative Text

    "Brill Bruisers"

    From 'Brill Bruisers'

    This is the title track from The New Pornographers' first studio album in four years. Due out Aug. 26, the album features the full band, including singer Neko Case and Dan Bejar of Destroyer.

    More on this song from the band's web site.

  • Mapei

    No Alternative Text


    From 'Hey Hey'

    Mapei was born in Rhode Island but grew up in Stockholm, where she writes and records a soulful mix of R&B, hip-hop and electronic dance music. Her debut album, Hey Hey, is scheduled for release Sept. 23.

    More on this album from Mapei's web site.

  • Moon Hooch

    No Alternative Text

    "Bari 3"

    From 'This Is Cave Music'

    We've been raving about Moon Hooch for months on All Songs Considered, not least of all for the band's incredible, frenetic live performances. The trio from Brooklyn will release its latest batch of riff-rock for saxophones on Sept. 16.

    Download this song from the band's website.

  • Dawn Golden

    No Alternative Text

    "Sleight Orchestra"

    From 'Still Life'

    The last time we featured Dawn Golden on the show, the band went by the name Dawn Golden And Rosy Cross. The name's changed, but the music (by Dexter Tortoriello) is still transfixing.

    More on this music from the artist's web site.

  • Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

    No Alternative Text

    "Coming Down (Feat. Matt Berninger)"

    From 'Only Run'

    Early in its career, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah made idiosyncratic pop music with quirky melodies and bouncing rhythms. This song, from the band's new album Only Run, is a grittier effort with a harder edge.

    More on this music from the band's web site.

  • Alvvays

    No Alternative Text

    "Next Of Kin"

    From 'Alvvays'

    Alvvays is a band to watch in 2014. Its self-titled debut album, due out July 22, is a mix of breezy summer sounds, led by the beautifully sedate voice of singer Molly Rankin.