Democrat Scott Murphy Wins NY 20 Seat; Tedisco (R) Concedes : It's All Politics Democrat Scott Murphy is the victor in the special congressional election in NY 20.
NPR logo Democrat Scott Murphy Wins NY 20 Seat; Tedisco (R) Concedes

Democrat Scott Murphy Wins NY 20 Seat; Tedisco (R) Concedes

It's over in NY 20: Murphy (D) wins. hide caption

toggle caption

They wanna stretch it out in Minnesota? Let 'em.

Not in New York 20.

Democrat Scott Murphy, a businessman making his first race, has won the special election (held March 31) in New York's 20th Congressional District to replace now-Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D). All the votes are apparently in, and Murphy has defeated Jim Tedisco, the former state Senate minority leader, by 401 votes. Tedisco conceded the race this afternoon.

In congratulating his opponent, Tedisco defended holding out until today:

This was a closely contested election that perhaps lasted a little longer than anyone may have expected or wanted. But it was important for our electoral process and for the hard-working people of Upstate New York that it be resolved fairly and decisively.

Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, had a message for the GOP:

In trying to win the NY-20 special election, the RNC, NRCC, and their Republican allies went all in on the losing gamble that voters would prefer their 'just say no' approach to President Obama's bold plans to get the economy back on track.

Scott Murphy's victory in this district where Republicans outnumber Democrats by more than 70,000 represents a rejection of the obstructionist agenda and scare tactics that have become the hallmark of House Republicans.

The House now stands at 256 Democrat, 178 Republican and 1 vacancy -- the solidly Democratic CA 32, formerly represented by now-Labor Secretary Hilda Solis.