NYC Primary Results: Thompson Romps : It's All Politics New York City Comptroller William Thompson won the city's Democratic primary for mayor, setting up a fall battle with incumbent Michael Bloomberg.
NPR logo NYC Primary Results: Thompson Romps

NYC Primary Results: Thompson Romps

In a primary characterized by few ads, little money, scant differences between the candidates and not much interest at all from voters, city Comptroller William Thompson won yesterday's Democratic mayoral primary in New York City, trouncing Queens city Councilman Tony Avella.

With all precincts counted, Thompson received 70 percent of the vote — 218,793 votes — to Avella's 21 percent (66,722 votes). A third candidate trailed with eight percent.

At a victory rally, Thompson immediately went after Mayor Michael Bloomberg, a multi-billionaire who was elected twice as a Republican but who is now an independent.

You told us you'd create jobs. But the fact is, unemployment in our city is at a 16-year high. Eight is enough!

Thompson, who would be the city's second African-American mayor, is a decided underdog to Bloomberg, who was not involved in yesterday's primaries; he's running on the GOP and independent lines.

The battle to replace retiring Public Advocate Betsy Gotbaum will go to a Sept. 29 Democratic runoff. Brooklyn city Councilman Bill de Blasio, a former Hillary Clinton campaign aide, led former public advocate Mark Green in a multi-candidate race. Green gave up the post in 2001 to run for mayor, where he narrowly lost to Bloomberg.

And the battle to succeed Comptroller Thompson will also be decided in two weeks, a runoff between two councilmembers.

The Democratic primary for Manhattan district attorney went to Cy Vance Jr., son of the late secretary of state under Jimmy Carter. Young Vance will be succeeding legendary Robert Morgenthau Jr., who is retiring and has been D.A. since 1975.

Other than mayor, Democrats are prohibitive favorites for the other positions.

Useless Trivia But Heck I'm Originally From New York So I Can't Help It. Here is a list of NYC comptrollers who have run for mayor since World War II:

Lawrence Gerosa (D 1954-61) — running as an independent, lost 1961 general election to Robert Wagner Jr. (D)
Abe Beame (D 1962-65) — lost 1965 general election to John Lindsay (R)
Mario Procaccino (D 1966-69) — lost 1969 general election to John Lindsay (I)
Abe Beame (D 1970-73) — elected in 1973
Harrison Goldin (D 1974-89) — finished 3rd in 1989 Democratic primary
Alan Hevesi (D 1994-2001) — finished 4th in 2001 Democratic primary