Iran's Voting Hours Extended; Turnout Is Heavy : The Two-Way Voting hours extended in Iran.
NPR logo Iran's Voting Hours Extended; Turnout Is Heavy

Iran's Voting Hours Extended; Turnout Is Heavy

Polls in Iran are going to stay open at least one extra hour, the Associated Press reports, "because of heavy queues at polling stations." The new closing time is 10:30 a.m. ET (that's 7 p.m. local time in Tehran).

Iran's Interior Ministry expects 70% of eligible voters will have turned out by day's end.

NPR.org's coverage of the pivotal election is collected here.

Update at 1:05 p.m. ET: Now, voting's been extended to 3:30 p.m. ET -- midnight in Iran.

Update at 11:45 a.m. ET: Another one-hour extension, to 12:30 p.m. ET.

Update at 10:45 a.m. ET: Voting has been extended again, to 11:30 a.m. ET.